Combining Events that are produced in very distinct moments in time using Kafka Tools

Hello! I’m new to Kafka and Kafka Streams and I’m looking for some educated advice regarding my scenario.

I have a requirement to combine events that come in pretty distinct moments in time. I.e. I might receive event X today and event Y five days later. Only after I’ve received both X and Y I should be allowed to produce a new Z event. There’s no way for me to guess a timeline for those events, only the rules on how they would be combined.

Does anyone know if this is something relatively easy to achieve using tools from the Kafka Ecosystem? My research tells me that I might have to build custom logic for all of that, but I wonder if I’m missing something, since I’m new and might not be approaching the problem from the right angle.

Thank you!

Using Kafka Streams, it should be possible to do. You would need to implement a custom Processor or Transformer (depending if you use the Processor API or DSL). You need to ensure that events that should be merged are written into the same partition – if you cannot control the upstream pipeline, you would need to repartition the data accordingly.

Inside the Processor/Transformer you can use a state store to buffer partial result and update partial results until they are completed, for which case you can delete it from the state store and emit the result downstream.

Hello,

I’m a bit confused when you said I have to repartition data accordingly. I understand partitions are a subset of the data inside the topic, but not sure what you mean by repartition in this scenario…

Thank you for the other info, puts me on the right path for further research. Didn’t think about using state stores (prob backup up by RocksDB if multiple services?) for this use case.