Json with schema registry

Hello,
I’m quite new to Kafka and after successfully managing some HTTP connectors without schema (“value.converter.schemas.enable”: “false”), I’m struggling to use schemas. :frowning:

I’ve added the schema (“schemaType”: “JSON”) of my JSON (where the producer is out of my control) to the schema registry and then modified the configuration of my connector so that it uses it:

"value.converter": "io.confluent.connect.json.JsonSchemaConverter",
    "value.converter.schemas.enable": "true",
"value.converter.schema.registry.url": "https://kafka-schemaregistry:8081/",

The problem is, I get the (in)famous “Unknown magic byte!”

ERROR Error encountered in task test-withschema-0. Executing stage ‘VALUE_CONVERTER’ with class ‘io.confluent.connect.json.JsonSchemaConverter’, where consumed record is {topic=‘mytopic’, partition=0, offset=34, timestamp=1708945734273, timestampType=CreateTime}. (org.apache.kafka.connect.runtime.errors.LogReporter)
org.apache.kafka.connect.errors.DataException: Converting byte to Kafka Connect data failed due to serialization error of topic visitor:
at io.confluent.connect.json.JsonSchemaConverter.toConnectData(JsonSchemaConverter.java:144)
Caused by: org.apache.kafka.common.errors.SerializationException: Error deserializing JSON message for id -1
at io.confluent.kafka.serializers.json.AbstractKafkaJsonSchemaDeserializer.deserialize(AbstractKafkaJsonSchemaDeserializer.java:236)

Caused by: org.apache.kafka.common.errors.SerializationException: Unknown magic byte!

I’ve read plenty of posts (including the great https://www.confluent.io/blog/how-to-fix-unknown-magic-byte-errors-in-apache-kafka/ ) but still struggling to fix it.

I’d have a couple of questions: