Kafka: error publishing request: Failed to allocate memory within the configured max blocking time 100 ms

I am new to kafka and I am getting this error in producer- kafka: error publishing request: Failed to allocate memory within the configured max blocking time 100 ms.
What settings do I need to check?
Why do I get this error, would like to understand if it is configuration issue on Producer (and finetuning needed) or resource issue (jvm)?
If this error is related to network, what steps or logs I need to check to ensure the issue is because of network?

Thanks in advance!!

Producer config settings that specifically relate to this error are max.block.ms and buffer.memory.

The error occurs when a producer send is blocked longer than max.block.ms due to the associated additional buffer memory needed would exceed buffer.memory. Existing message batches that have not been flushed are using that memory. This could be due to producer batching behavior controlled by linger.ms and batch.size and producer request behavior related to max.in.flight.requests.per.connection. It could also be related to the broker ability to process requests received. These requests include those received from producers, consumers, as well as replica fetch requests from other brokers.

Bottom line, there is not a simple answer. More detail is needed. Confluent Control Center is one source for this detail. JMX metrics is another source.

Additional info:

Producer configs - Kafka producer configuration reference | Confluent Documentation

Broker configs - Kafka broker and controller configuration reference | Confluent Documentation

Monitoring Kafka metrics - Monitoring Kafka with JMX | Confluent Documentation

1 Like

Thanks Dave for your explanation. I will go through the references.

I was wandering if ‘producer send is blocked longer than max.block.ms due to associated additional buffer memory needed would exceed buffer.memory’… .