Understanding Aggregate KTables Subtractor

Hi, I’m new with Kafka and try to use it more. I am trying to understand the Aggregator or more precisely the Subtractor on KTable. From what I have read in the documentation the subtractor and adder are both called (given it has already been initialized. So often if you see a adder like +1L and subtractor like -1L (as for a simple count) then you would end up with no change after all (if both are called). So what part am I missing here?

Below is the relevant part from the guide: https://kafka.apache.org/27/documentation/streams/developer-guide/dsl-api.html#aggregating

When subsequent non-null values are received for a key (e.g., UPDATE), then (1) the subtractor is called with the old value as stored in the table and (2) the adder is called with the new value of the input record that was just received. The order of execution for the subtractor and adder is not defined.

They will be called for different keys :slight_smile: Let’s look at an example. Assume you have an input KTable as follows:

key | value
-----------
 A  | (a, 10)
 B  | (a, 20)
 C  | (b, 15)

You groupBy(value.first) and sum(value.second) and get a result table:

key | value
-----------
 a  | 30
 b  | 15

Now the input table gets updated: <B,(a,20)> changes to <B,(b,5)>. For this case, to update the second table, 20 needs to be subtracted for a, and 5 needs to be added for b resulting in:

key | value
-----------
 a  | 10
 b  | 20

Hence, the adder and subtractor are applies to different rows in the result table to compute the update.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your detailed explanation Matthias. I have a little follow up question.

In your last part of the example, assuming that instead of an update from <B,(a,20)> to <B,(b,5)> it changes to <B,(a,25)> would it be correct, that the subtractor then is never called? Or would it technically subtract 20 and add 25?