How to avoid cycles with mirrormaker

I am using Kafka mirror maker 2.0 with 2 local kafka. I studied the issue that getting rid of cycles without aliases is not possible at the moment.
I try to tune mm2.properties so that MM2 replicates topics with the same names without aliases and without cycles messages in topics.
Can you tell me please how to set up such replication.

Hi @EShabakhov

welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Just be sure:
you try to replicate a topic between you 2 kafka clusters correct?
I assume the following:
kafka-a → replicates topic test → kafka-b
kafka-b → replicates topic test → kafka-a

would be nice if you could give some details what you would like to achieve

best,
michael

Hi @mmuehlbeyer

Yes, I try to replicate topic with the same name.

For example:
Cluster A replicates topic test to cluster B.
Cluster B replicates topic test to cluster A.

But MirrorMaker’s configuration does not allow to replicate the same topic without aliases and if I do not specify aliases in configuration files, then I will have a message loop.

Can it be fixed without fixing the source code?

Hi,

basically it’s a feature to prevent cycles

https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/KAFKA/KIP-382%3A+MirrorMaker+2.0#KIP382:MirrorMaker2.0-RemoteTopics,Partitions

https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/KAFKA/KIP-382%3A+MirrorMaker+2.0#KIP382:MirrorMaker2.0-Cycledetection

what would you like to achieve with the topics mirrored in that way?

best,
michael

1 Like

I’m not well versed in kafka, but as far as I know there are connectors that work with messages in kafka (read / write). These connectors must read specific topics.

MirrorMaker can only provide replication if the alias settings are specified in the configuration files. If one kafka cluster fails, then some of the connectors will not be able to read the same topics in another cluster, because they have a different name.

basically yes