Kafka-connect-jdbc Oracle Datatypes

Hi, I tried to tackle down a problem with the sourceConnector of kafka-connect-jdbc and the oracle column-type FLOAT.

Connection::.getColumns returns a java.sql.Type.FLOAT but unfortunatly ResultSetMetaData return java.sql.Type.NUMERIC with a big precision (126) and a undefined scale (-127).

At least for NumericMapping.BEST_FIT_EAGER_DOUBLE the schemageneration falls back to Decimal because undefined scale. For me it looks like there should be expressions in the ifs that should consider NUMERIC_TYPE_SCALE_UNSET.

What do you think? I would create a issue including a first patch for this if there is no good reason to ignore the NUMERIC_TYPE_SCALE_UNSET in this setting.

As I am new to the Confluent Community I am not sure where to discuss such questions. There is a thread in slack too:

Welcome to the forum @sebastian.sickelmann! I’m not quite following what the issue is, can you help me and others by explaining in a bit more detail? What’s the definition of the field in Oracle itself?

I wrote this article a while ago which covers decimals etc with the JDBC connector.

Here is a good place :slight_smile:

Sure. It is defined as FLOAT(126) or FLOAT in short.
There is only a precision specification and no scale.
To clarify some details: Demystifying Oracle FLOAT Data Type with Practical Examples got me a little bit smarter in this topic.

So we cannot compare the precision of an NUMERIC and a FLOAT as it is decimal digits vs. binary bits.
If you use jdbc (Connection::getMetaData().getColumns() to query the metadata of such fields you get: jdbcType = 6 (java.sql.Types::FLOAT) precision=126 and scale=0 .
But when you query (with ex. SELECT *) and analyse the ResultSetMetadata for this “Field” it is jdbcType = 2(java.sql.Types::NUMERIC) precision=126 and scale=-127.