Total Noob re: Kafka

Hello - I have a long history as a developer but haven’t developed professionally for 10 years or so as have spent some time in IT management, QA and test automation. I’ve only very recently started reading about Kafka and watching some good videos especially by Tim Burgland.

I’m sure I’ll get some eyerolls here, but I don’t get it! Maybe I just haven’t read/watched enough yet, but I don’t see the advantage of Kafka over a traditional DB based system. Seems like a topic is a table, publishers are services that do “inserts”, consumers are services that do “selects”, and enhancing data in on topic with data from another is a “join”.

I keep reading that Kafka is “real time”. Well, if I’m inserting event records in a database as they happen, and I’m querying the database often enough wont’ that approach real time - or at least as close as makes no meaningful difference anyway?

Please enlighten me, I must be missing something(s) :slight_smile:

3 Likes

A lot of databases don’t have a streaming api. So like you said you can query a lot to make sure you notice new things in near real time. As with most of these things, you can always kind of make it work in some other way. But this often comes at a price.

In this case traditional databases are going to have a tough time when a lot of apps are doing queries each time. Then there is the problem for each app of knowing what the new data is. Another concern with traditional databases is that all data is considered equal. So in time it becomes more slow. Each app needing some data, needs credentials to read the data, and often also needs to know a bit about how the data is structured.