First connect via SSL

Hi there,

first of all, i’m new to kafka in general.

I needed data from a company for a private project and a kafka topic was created where the data is sent. After watching countless videos in the meantime, I thought I could do the integration. My way to do this is as follows:

Kafka topic (ext. company) > Kafka connect (standalone on my side) > mysql sink

Now I was told to connect to the topic:

topicname
servicename.pem (incl. pkey)
servicename.jks (i think this is keystore)
server.cer.pem (i generated truststore.jks from this one)
bootstrap.server urls
username and password

First problem, if I have a keystore the authentication is actually pure SSL and I don’t need username and password and if it is SASL_SSL I don’t need a keystore. I am a bit confused and have tried all possible combinations. Of course I have also tried purely as a consumer because I think I’m still missing the schema-registry url. Or, before I ask the company and uncovered myself as a complete newbie, could someone here make the connection with the information given to me? Would this be possible at all? Thanks for the help.

Hi,

if the Authentication method is SASL_SSL you still might have a key and truststore. (In the scenarios where I saw SASL_PLAIN in the past it was common that you still have keystore/truststore but not sure if it is mandatory - I guess not if your os provides proper default cas)
The difference to real TLS Authentication is that the authentication itself will be done with SASL but still there is TLS for encryption of the data on transport - just no two-way TLS authentication is done. And that TLS Connection needs to be trustful.

From docu (Encrypt and authenticate Confluent Platform and resources with TLS | Confluent Documentation):